Skip to main content

About The Council

Mayor of Richmond, Councillor Lorraine Hodgson

The Mayor

The current Mayor of Richmond is Councillor Robert White

The list of names of every Mayor of Richmond since 1668 is on display in the Council Chamber in the Town Hall. The first of these names, the Mayor in 1668, was William Wetwange. The first lady to hold office was Mary J Hodgson, who was Mayor in 1932, 1933 and 1934. Another lady, Ruth G Roper, held the office in 1935,1936 and 1937. Mrs Roper was one of a number of Roper's who became Mayor of Richmond and these include the wonderfully named Roper Stote Donnison Rowe Roper (1855), George Roper (1881-3 and 1890) and George A Roper (1924-6).

The Town Council elect the new Mayor at the February meeting and the Mayor takes office in May.

View Past Mayors


Town Clerk, Heather Lawler

The Town Clerk

The current Town Clerk is Heather Lawler, who took up the post in May 2011.

As is the case with the Mayors of Richmond, the list of names of every Town Clerk of Richmond can be traced back to the 1660s

The list of names is on display in the Council Chamber in the Town Hall. The first four Town Clerks of Richmond were all named Close, and collectively they held their posts for nearly one hundred years. Three Town Clerks served between 1884 and 1955, Christopher Croft (the longest serving clerk, 1884-1919), William Foster and David Brooks. The latter is still remembered by many people within the town. The longest serving clerk of recent times was Alan M Wilcox (1985-97) who died in February 2010.

Email the Town Clerk:

View Past Town Clerks

The Office

Office Hours at 9.30 – 12.30 am Monday to Friday

Contact Tel. 01748 850808

Find Us

The Town Hall is situated in the Market Place next to the Town Hall Hotel.

Postcode  DL10 4QL